top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturemylifethroughblogs

A Few Things I've Learned From Life

Hello there, and welcome! My name's Lindsey. This is my first-ever blog, so keep that in mind and bear with me :)


Life is hard. Some days, all you want to do is just lie in bed and forget about the world around you. Life is also beautiful. Just as we can remember every unpleasant moment we've endured in life, we can also remember the wonderful times we were able to have. From this, I've learn that life is about balance.

To appreciate good times, you must go though difficult times, and to get through dark times, you need cheerful memories to act as a guiding light.


I am 22 years old. For me, this is a strange age to be at. You're old enough to give up childish habits and activities, but still young enough to not yet be taken seriously by people older than you. It always seems like no matter how old you get, you will never be on the same level of those older than you. Often times I wonder if when I am 60 years old, if an 80 year old will not take me seriously. Think back to when you were 12. Although there were many things you did not understand, you felt as though you were so full of wisdom and intelligence (or at least I did). Your parents didn't understand you, they couldn't comprehend what you were going through. Now, thinking about who I used to be and what I use to think is almost laughable. I definitely wouldn't have taken my 12 year old self seriously, because I know how much I changed and how much I didn't know. I wonder if my 32 year old self will say the same things about my current self one day.

Life is about learning. We must always understand that what we think and believe could be wrong. Someone who thinks they are right all the time will never grow. They will reject others ideas if they are different from their own. This is dangerous, and it stifles ones ability to accept new ideas, and learn. Whether you agree with someone or not, you should always keep an open mind and listen to what others say.

We all have our own realities of life. We all grew up differently from one another. Our thoughts, beliefs and ideas are shaped by the environment we live in. This means we all think differently. This is an amazing thing! How boring would the world be if we all had the same brain! We can learn so much from our differences. People who are open to learning will sit quietly, and listen. They will ask questions, not to ridicule, but to genuinely want to know the answer. People who are not open to learning will attack those with differing opinions, with their words or violence.

Life is about acceptance. Like it or not, we are all different. We can either hate each other because of our differences, or grow together as a result of them. That choice belongs to you.

Life is better (for yourself and others) if you are kind. Pretty self explanatory. Just be kind to people. The world can be a difficult place, and you never know how much a little kindness can mean to someone. You never really know what people are dealing with, so be nice to everyone - even the not-so-kind ones. They sometimes need it the most.

Hope everyone is having a great day. Sorry that got a bit sappy there at the end, hopefully it got the point across though!



37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page